Transferring an existing domain name involves changing the company that handles the registration service, so after the transfer, you will have to manage things like renewal fees or DNS record updates through the new registrar company. The transfer process itself is standard with most generic and country-code Top-Level Domain extensions. Some country-code extensions are more specific and entail different steps, but in the general case transferring a domain entails a few necessary steps and one of them is unlocking the domain name. The lock is a security feature, which is being adopted by more and more domain registry operators. It is a default feature supported by all generic TLDs. If a domain is locked, it won’t be possible to initiate a transfer process, so nobody can even attempt to take your domain. The lock can be removed only through the account where the domain name is registered in the first place and all new domains that support this feature are locked by default the moment they are registered.

Registrar Lock in Shared Website Hosting

Locking and unlocking a domain name registered through our company is unbelievably easy. This can be achieved through the Hepsia Control Panel, which comes with our Linux shared website hosting packages, and will require literally two clicks. All your domain names will be shown alphabetically in the Domain Manager section of the Hepsia Control Panel and next to those whose extensions support the domain lock option, you will notice a padlock-like sign. Click on it once and you will notice the domain name’s current status. Click once again and you’ll change its status. The change will take effect instantly without the need for you or for us to do anything else for the status to be ‘refreshed’ on WHOIS lookup websites, so you can continue with the transfer straight away.