Whois Privacy Protection, sometimes also referred to as Privacy or Whois Privacy Protection, is a service that hides the authentic contact details of domain registrants on WHOIS lookup web sites. Without protection, the personal name, home address and email account of any domain name owner will be freely accessible. Supplying fake details during the domain name registration process or changing the genuine info subsequently will just not work, as doing such a thing may result in the domain registrant losing their ownership of the domain. The policies adopted by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), require that the WHOIS information must be correct and accurate all the time. The Whois Privacy Protection service was launched by domain name registrars as a response to the growing concerns about possible identity theft. If the protection service is enabled, the domain registrar’s contact info will appear instead of the domain registrant’s upon a WHOIS check. Most domain names support the Whois Privacy Protection service, although there are some country-code ones that don’t.

Whois Privacy Protection in Shared Website Hosting

You can swiftly enable Whois Privacy Protection for any domain that you have registered through our company in case you have a shared website hosting account with us. This can be done through the same Hepsia Control Panel, via which you administer the hosting account itself, so you will not have to use different interfaces. In the same section where all your active domains will be listed, there will be an “Whois Privacy Protection” icon for each and every domain name whose extension supports the service. The status of that icon will quickly let you know if the Whois Privacy Protection service is activated for a certain domain name or not and by clicking on that icon you can enable the service in case you have not done so during the registration process. Plus, you’ll also be able to renew or to deactivate the Whois Privacy Protection service for any domain using the very same icon and the update will take effect immediately.